

HAVA Grant Board DRAFT Meeting Minutes

Monday, November 2, 2015 2:00 p.m. (CT)

Secretary of State's office 500 E. Capitol Ave., Suite 204 Pierre, SD 57501

Conference call dial-in information: Dial-in number: 866.410.8397 Conference code: 2178377981 Secretary of State's Office

Kristin Kellar, HAVA Coordinator and Chair, called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m. (CT).

Present (in person): Kristin Kellar, HAVA Coordinator and Chair, Shantel Krebs (Secretary of State), Kea Warne (Deputy of Election Services, Secretary of State's office), Tom Deadrick (Deputy of Business Services, Secretary of State's office), Rachel Schmidt (Election Coordinator, Secretary of State's office) and Christine Lehrkamp (State Election Coordinator, Secretary of State's office)

Board members present (on conference call): Bobbi Janke (Lake County Auditor), Sheila Hagemann (Turner County Auditor), David Reiss (Director of Intergovernmental Programs, SD Department of Tribal Relations), Jerry Schwarting (Mellette County Auditor), Bob Litz (Minnehaha County Auditor)

Board members not present: Denise DeJong (Disability Community Representative)

Quorum present.

HAVA Coordinator, Kristin Kellar, welcomed everyone to the meeting and explained that the reason for this meeting was to discuss extending the deadline for the HAVA Grant Application (the \$9,000 for the Primary/General AND the In Person Absentee Satellite Voting Center) to February 1, 2016.

A motion was made by Jerry Schwarting to approve the agenda and seconded by Bob Litz. Roll call vote: Denise DeJong- not present; Sheila Hagemann- aye; Bobbi Janke- aye; Jerry Schwarting- aye; David Reiss- aye; Kristin Kellar- aye. Approved.

Minutes from the October 19, 2015 meeting were reviewed. A motion was made by Bobbi Janke to change the word "agenda" to "minutes" on the bottom of page one, to change the word "father" to "farther" on the bottom of page two and "Kristen" to "Kristin" on the top of the page one.

Approval of the amendments to the minutes was moved by Bobbi Janke and seconded by Sheila

Hagemann. Roll call vote: Denise DeJong- not present; Sheila Hagemann- aye; Bobbi Janke- aye; Jerry Schwarting- aye; David Reiss- aye; Kristin Kellar- aye. Approved.

David Reiss moved to approve the minutes as amended and seconded by Bobbi Janke. Roll call vote: Denise DeJong- not present; Sheila Hagemann- aye; Bobbi Janke- aye; Jerry Schwarting- aye; David Reiss- aye; Kristin Kellar- aye. Approved.

Kristin Kellar explained that the Secretary of State's office felt that there was not adequate time for counties to submit their HAVA Grant applications, which were due on July 1, 2015. The timeline was too short and this exception is for this one time only. In the future, they would follow the deadline laid out in the HAVA parameters and the HAVA State Plan. Kristin Kellar explained they would then review the applications in February and call a meeting of the board late in February for approval.

Bob Litz asked if moving the deadline was a one shot deal and if they would then go back to the prescribed deadline.

Kristin Kellar stated that, yes, that was the plan.

Shantel Krebs thanked the HAVA Grant Board for their time and consideration on this proposal and that she wanted to make sure that every county received the chance for assistance.

David Reiss asked if there would be outreach to county auditors this week announcing this change in the deadline.

Kristin Kellar explained that the Secretary of State's office is holding a county auditor workshop this week and that they would be informed then. Also, she would be sending out the appropriate correspondence to the county auditors.

David Reiss moved to approve the motion to extend the deadline and seconded by Bob Litz. Roll call vote: Denise DeJong- not present; Sheila Hagemann- aye; Bobbi Janke- aye; Jerry Schwartingaye; David Reiss- aye; Kristin Kellar- aye. Approved.

Kristin Kellar asked for comments from the public. No comments from the public.

Kristin Kellar thanked the HAVA Grant Board for their time and consideration and further stated that the Secretary of State's Election Team would be holding their county auditor workshop this week where they go through everything on how to run an election.



Motion to adjourn made by Bob Litz and seconded by Sheila Hagemann. Roll call vote: Denise DeJong- not present; Sheila Hagemann- aye; Bobbi Janke- aye; Jerry Schwarting- aye; David Reissaye; Kristin Kellar- aye. Approved.

Adjourn at 2:12 p.m. (CT)

Shantel Krebs, Secretary of State

Rachel Schmidt, Recorder