HAVA Grant Board Meeting Minutes

Thursday, September 24, 2015 10:00 a.m. CT Secretary of State's office 500 E. Capitol Ave., Suite 204 Pierre, SD 57501

Conference call dial-in information: Dial-in number: 866.410.8397 Conference code: 2178377981

Brandon Johnson, HAVA Coordinator and Chair, called the meeting to order at 10:05 am (CT).

Present (in person): Brandon Johnson, HAVA Coordinator and Chair, David Reiss (Director of Intergovernmental Programs, SD Department of Tribal Relations), Jerry Schwarting (Mellette County Auditor), Bret Healy (Four Directions Inc.), Bob Mercer (Reporter), Shantel Krebs (Secretary of State), Kea Warne (Secretary of State - Deputy of Elections), Jason Williams (Secretary of State Public Information Officer), Kristin Kellar (Secretary of State - HAVA Coordinator), and Rachel Schmidt (Secretary of State - Elections Coordinator)

Present (on conference call): Bobbi Janke (Lake County Auditor), Denise DeJong (Disability Community Representative), Sheila Hagemann (Turner County Auditor), Christine Lehrkamp (Secretary of State – State Election Coordinator)

Not Present: Bob Litz (Minnehaha County Auditor)

Quorum present.

HAVA Coordinator, Brandon Johnson, stated that he would be resigning from his position and Kristin Kellar would be taking over as HAVA Coordinator and Chair.

Minutes from the previous meeting were reviewed with no questions asked. Approval of the minutes were moved by Bobbi Janke and seconded by Sheila Hagemann. Roll call vote: Denise DeJong- aye; Sheila Hagemann- aye; Bobbi Janke- aye; Jerry Schwarting- aye; David Reiss- aye; Brandon Johnson- aye. Approved.

HAVA Grant Application for Dewey County was reviewed. Dewey County currently has \$8,968 in their account and is requesting the maximum amount of \$9,000 for an in person voting site.

David Reiss asked where the location would be for the in person voting site. Brandon Johnson was not exactly sure but assumed it would be in the most populated town of Eagle Butte.



A motion was made by Bobbi Janke to change the HAVA Grant Application form to in-person voting. Deputy Secretary, Kea Warne, suggested holding off on making changes until the October 19th meeting because of proposed changes to the HAVA Grant parameters. Bobbi Janke removed her motion.

David Reiss made the motion to approve the HAVA Grant application from Dewey County for \$9,000 which was seconded by Jerry Schwarting. Roll call vote: Denise DeJong- aye; Sheila Hagemann- aye; Bobbi Janke- aye; Jerry Schwarting- aye; David Reiss- aye; Brandon Johnson- aye. Approved.

HAVA Grant Application for Sully County was reviewed. Sully County requested the maximum amount of \$9,000 for maintenance of voting equipment.

Brandon Johnson explained the HAVA Grant application and the grant parameters. He said that Sully County would need to show expenses for the grant that they used for reimbursement.

David Reiss asked if they were currently zeroed out in their HAVA account.

Brandon Johnson said that they currently were.

Bobbi Janke asked if the cost of insurance could be used by the grant and if that met the parameters of the grant.

Brandon Johnson said that it would not meet the parameters of the grant.

Jerry Schwarting asked if the grant could be used for in house maintenance.

Brandon Johnson said that the equipment maintenance agreement is broad in what it could include.

David Reiss asked if at this point are they the grant spending authority and Brandon Johnson agreed.

Bobbi Janke made the motion to approve the HAVA Grant application from Sully county for \$9,000 which was seconded by David Reiss. Roll call vote: Denise DeJong- aye; Sheila Hagemann- aye; Bobbi Janke- aye; Jerry Schwarting- aye; David Reiss- aye; Brandon Johnson- aye. Approved.

The meeting moved to comments by the public. Jerry Schwarting inquired that since Mellette County is getting very low on funds, should they apply now or look ahead to the future.



Brandon Johnson said that it would be up to the county and he foresees many counties applying in the future since their funds are starting to get low. The deadline for funds this year was July 1 and the next deadline in July 1 of next year. Brandon said that it would depend on the counties situation and recommends that each county look at their expenses. Each county needs to be conservative with funds since there are no future large amounts of money coming into the fund.

Brett Healy, of Four Directions Inc., expressed his gratitude for the HAVA Grant Board. He stated that they have been fair and efficient.

Brandon Johnson asked for a personal privilege and thanked the committee for the past four years of work together.

Motion to adjourn at 10:30 am by David Reiss, seconded by Jerry Schwarting. Roll call vote: Denise DeJong- aye; Sheila Hagemann- aye; Bobbi Janke- aye; David Reiss- aye; Brandon Johnson- aye. Approved.

Shantel Krebs, Secretary of State

Rachel Schmidt, Recorder